she will be saved through the bearing of children

I have always stood by that my birth was painless. mind you that doesn’t mean feelingless it means it was work it was intense and emotionally hard but i felt no physical pain. Pain to me is what you experience when you break your arm or cut yourself but in my opinion childbirth is work, it is glorious intense hard tiring uncomfortable work, but not pain. I have also stood by my belief that birth for me was an act of worship. and i believe that the reason i didn’t feel pain was that my focus was not “this thing is happening to me” which so many women say and think when bearing children either in pregnancy or labor but rather my focus was what i was doing, and why i was doing it, and who i was doing it for. For me it was for the glory of God.

But in contrast many people believe that pain in childbirth is a necessary part of childbirth. for many genesis 3:16 reigns true. But the word we often translate to be “pain” in childbirth is also translated to mean “sorrow” and so for me the verse reads 

Genesis 3:16 Unto the woman he said, I will greatly multiply thy sorrow and thy conception; in sorrow thou shalt bring forth children;

For me emotional pain was what i felt in childbirth. For me bearing a son made me face emotional scars and wounds and i faced them with God’s grace behind me. and it was healing. and now i face #2 with those some of those same wounds still needing to be healed more and in new ways along with some new wounds. and again i trust and believe that when my baby is born it will again be sorrowful but will also again be an act of worship and will be healing. 

and then today in the midst of facing some of those wounds i stumbled across this verse that neither I or my husband and ever read and it brought affirmation to what i had always believed about birth and God. the verse i felt spoke for itself in response to Genesis 3:16 and the act of redemption it reads…

(please go back and read the whole passage it is good)

1 Timothy 2:15 “But women will be saved through childbearing- if they continue in faith, love, and holiness with propriety”

So i challenge you to look at your future birth or past birth with new eyes…. rather than focusing on what you think is happening to you which will most likely result in physical pain, as that thought alone brings on fear which in physical form causes pain, but rather focus on God’s hand in your birth. How is your birth an act of worship and in what ways God is trying to redeem you?

 

 

Leave a Reply

