Proverbs 31

For the last 3 months i have been reading Becoming the Woman God Wants Me to Be: A 90-Day Guide to Living the Proverbs 31 Life"". Its a 90 Day, Daily study, on the Proverbs 31 woman. Wow is it a full book! Each day takes about 15min to read. Its had verse memorization, Its about 4 lines of the passage every week, so that in the end you have memorized the whole passage. There are tangible activities and Journaling involved. Some i’ve talked to who read it loved it, others were overwhelmed, and some enjoyed it. Personally i loved it!!!

I enjoyed memorzing the passage, i don’t have it perfect but i have the jist of the whole things and often parts of it flash into my head as i hit hard points in the day. The book has affirmed choices i’ve made but find being challenged by others but it has also challenged me in other areas i wasn’t focusing on. It covers all areas of life for us moms, from working and making money, to clean and decluttering our homes. It includes a chapter on food, clothing, fitness. and Chapters on Faith and ministry.

One thing she has you do is create a binder that is your household binder that contains everything you would ever need to reference. I wasn’t sure i would like her system as i am a very organized person and I have my own system. I was actually very surprised to find aspects of her system that i really liked that i plan to continue to utilize. For example i love her daily planning/to do list. Each day you schedule something in one of 6 major areas, Spiritual, physical, relational, personal, missional, and Financial. This has really helped me to evaluate the major things in a day that i need to hit and get done and helped me to keep a balanced day. Not one that ignores the need tos to hang with my family or one that ingores my family because of work, or selfishness.

There were some interesting satistics in her book that really challanged me in the way i viewed why i have a job and earn income. I had always thought of it as we need it now but as soon as we don’t i can go back to just being a stay at home mom instead of a work at home mom. But i don’t think i will do that. the passage talks about how the proverbs 31 woman sold scarves to the merchants, and how she worked hard. Donna Partow showed how its important to follow that lead, especially in this day when 7 out of 10 woman will live in poverty, most in their retirement years and 80% of widows now living in poverty were not poor before the death of their husband. This really struck me especially when she talked about how woman are away from the workforce for an average of 14.7 years compared to men who are gone 1.6 years, this makes a huge different when you look at things like company 401ks, retirement plans, and social security. If my husband were to die first which is most likely he would take with him the majority of our income and then what would happen to me? I don’t work because we need the $ now i work because I need to plan for the future of my family! That doesn’t mean i need to be away from my children to work, that i don’t agree with and that is not what the author teaches, instead the idea is that you learn to do something from home that you can make atleast a little money at and then also be wise finances so that money is there in the later years.
Overall for me i enjoyed the book and would recomend it for anyone looking for a kick in the butt to get themselves organized, their home organized, their life, and their spiritual lives organized! It was challenging and task filled but in a way that renewed my view of what my role is as wife and mother in christ.

Leave a Reply

